After making the Tsubo style pot in my last batch of pots has put me on a little bit of a different path and I decided to have a go at some larger tsubo pot / jar like vessels. Being that my throwing ability is restricted I will have to make them in more than one part and then join them together. I think with more practise I will be able to throw fewer and larger so as to have fewer pieces to join together. The clay I use is very heavily grogged as it can be used for all manner of firings, including Raku. The clay throws well but is not very elastic and a little on the short side but that aside I love working with it as it lends itself to so many different aspects of pottery.

I took a few shots of the pots during the making process:

IMG_0673

The three parts thrown that will fit together

IMG_0685

The first two parts joined together and made stiffer with a little fire

IMG_0686

The top part of the pot is now attached to the bigger bottom part

IMG_0688

Then the top part is thrown into the shape required as it is softer than the rest of the pot

IMG_0689

Changing the shape by throwing

IMG_0690

Stiffening further with fire

IMG_0693

Add decoration and stamp

IMG_0698

The finished pot which stands about 24″ tall. Now to be left to dry before bisque firing

IMG_0697

Another pot made at the same time but with two parts





