DSCF1169

2013 has been a little bit of a tricky year for me. Noelanders was pretty good at the beginning of the year but the SNOW put a bit of the kibosh on things and sales were not as good as previous years but this was comforted by the privilege of family, friends and a good beer or too.

In May Marie and I bought our first house together which meant a huge upheaval and again the pottery had to be dismantled and moved to a new location and I also had to cancel a few shows due to not having a place to make pots from. A new house meant new projects and this seemed to leave very little time for messing about with the sticky stuff. So I made a decision that I would slacken off on the clay playing and stop making Bonsai Pots on a commercial basis for the foreseeable future. Not making Bonsai pots was like going “cold turkey”. The bottom line is I love them and what they represent even on a personal level, making them back in 2004 kept me sane when I was in a bad place with my life.

Later in the year brought fantastic opportunities from Peter “Saruyama” Warren who personally invested in “Natural Flux” a Contemporary Bonsai Exhibition in the Arty Heart of East London, The Brick Lane Gallery of which I was hugely pleased and privileged to take part in and was a totally superb event.

My day job, over the course of the year, has become more and more demanding and when I got in from work I bearly had the inclination or energy to work on the house let alone with clay. So I find myself in a place where I am not doing bonsai ceramics on a commercial basis and clay time has been reduced somewhat, with a house to refurbish and a new pottery to establish outside of the cold garden shed I currently occupy.

A new year will bring new beginnings and I will “find the year” and put my best intentions and feet, or should that be hand’s, forward. I am not going to fall into the trap of setting resolutions, as they are rarely kept, but I am going to have a change in lifestyle that should see me kick a few bad habits and embrace the nice ones that are part of my being. So in the spirit of new beginnings, new goals and all newness here is a little video of me working on the wheel.

All the very very best for 2014, may it bring you all the prosperity and joy that you wish for and more

Regards

Andy

