As some of you may know my wife bought me a wedding present which consisted of a three day tea bowl masterclass with Lisa Hammond at Maze Hill Pottery in Greenwich. Well the course was last Friday through to Sunday and I had an amazing time.
Day one consisted of hand building Chawan, back to basic with pinch pots and slabs. Then the even more interesting task of carving a Chawan from a block of clay.

IMG_2073.JPG

IMG_2090.JPG
Day two was throwing from pre-weighed balls of clay to throwing from the hump. I enjoyed both immensely and at the end of the day had a slew of pots to hand carve the foot rings on the next day.

IMG_2103.JPG
Day three was essentially learning how to hand carve with some rustic wooden tools that we made over the course. There was plenty for me to practise on from the previous day so I did not mind loosing the odd one here and there

IMG_2115.JPG

IMG_2104.JPG
The course was excellent (I learnt so much), food beautiful and Lisa’s instruction and passion for ceramics extremely infectious. I would recommend Lisa’s courses very highly indeed and a must for any serious potter out there.

IMG_2113.JPG

