IMG_0028.JPG

A while back my good friend Peter Warren stopped by with his good friend Akiyama San to collect some pots, have a cuppa and a chat. Akiyama San purchased a couple of my pots by which I was over the moon with as this was my first ever purchase by a Japanese bonsai artist.

A while after Peter and Akiyama left, Peter got in touch and said that both he and Akiyama San suggested that I apply to submit my pots for the Gafu Ten exhibition hosted at the Miyako Messe Exhibition Centre, Kyoto. I was very humbled to be asked and supported and a little nervous about whether my work would come up to scratch.

So after a lot of encouragement, recommendations and support from both Peter and Akiyama San the die was cast. I have been working on my submissions over the past few weeks with the intent on getting the pots finished before Peter heads over to Japan in November.

I will be entering into two pot categories of the three categories of the competition, these will be glazed and unglazed pots, the third category is painted pots. I will keep you posted on the firing results and my submissions for this prestigious competition in Japan, watch this space.

